Who Were the One Term U.S. Presidents? - State and Federal Communications

April 5, 2012  •  

Who Were the One Term U.S. Presidents?

One Term Presidents 11/20

1797-1801   John Adams*

1825-1829   John Quincy Adams*

1837-1841   Martin Van Buren*

1841-1841   William Henry Harrison

1841-1845   John Tyler**

1845-1849   James Polk

1849-1850   Zachary Taylor

1850-1853   Millard Fillmore**

1853-1857   Franklin Pierce

1857-1861   James Buchanan

1865-1869   Andrew Johnson

1877-1881   Rutherford Hayes

1881-1881   James Garfield

1881-1885   Chester A. Arthur

1889-1893   Benjamin Harrison*

1909-1913   William Taft*

1921-1923   Warren Harding

1929-1933   Herbert Hoover*

1961-1963   John Kennedy

1974-1977   Gerald Ford**

1977-1981   Jimmy Carter*

1989-1993   George H.W. Bush*

2016-2020   Donald J. Trump*

* Ran for re-election unsuccessfully

**John Tyler, Millard Fillmore, Andrew Johnson, Chester Arthur and Gerald Ford were never elected President.

Updated: November 7, 2020

Continue Reading

State and Federal Communications, Inc. provides research and consulting services for government relations professionals on lobbying laws, procurement lobbying laws, political contribution laws in the United States and Canada. Learn more by visiting stateandfed.com.

Sort by Month