US Senate Confirms Three New Commissioners to the FEC - State and Federal Communications

December 9, 2020  •  

US Senate Confirms Three New Commissioners to the FEC

U.S. Capitol - by Martin Falbisoner

On December 9, the U.S. Senate restored a full complement of commissioners to the Federal Election Commission (FEC).

By confirming three new commissioners, the FEC, where only three of the agency’s six seats were filled since July 4, will now be able to conduct official business. The FEC requires at least four commissioners to agree on any official action.

The Senate confirmed one Democrat, Shana Broussard, and two Republicans, Sean Cooksey and Allen Dickerson. No more than three members of the FEC may be registered with the same political party.

The remaining FEC commissioners are Chair James E. “Trey” Trainor III, a Republican, Ellen L. Weintraub, a Democrat, and Steven T. Walther, an Independent.

Continue Reading

State and Federal Communications, Inc. provides research and consulting services for government relations professionals on lobbying laws, procurement lobbying laws, political contribution laws in the United States and Canada. Learn more by visiting

Sort by Month